Frequently Asked Questions

This page provides an overview of FAQ related to the Creative Europe MEDIA subprogram.

Specific questions for each funding opportunity can be found in MEDIA Funding *link:

Please note that these pages provide an overview of FAQs and that further FAQs Link:  and all guidelines can be found on the EACEA website link: . 

What is the Creative Europe programme?

Creative Europe is the new EU programme to support European cinema and the cultural and creative sectors, enabling them to increase their contribution to jobs and growth. With a budget of €1.46 billion for 2014-2020, it will support tens of thousands of artists, cultural and audiovisual professionals and organisations in the performing arts, fine arts, publishing, film, TV, music, interdisciplinary arts, heritage, and the video games industry. The funding will allow them to operate across Europe, to reach new audiences and to develop the skills needed in the digital age. By helping European cultural works to reach audiences in other countries, the programme will also contribute to safeguarding cultural and linguistic diversity.

What is a Participant Identification Code (PIC)?

Participant Identification Code is a 9-digit number serving as a unique identifier for organisations (legal entities) participating in EU funding programmes. This number is obtained after registration on the Participant Portal. Anyone who wants to apply for EU funds must be registered on this portal. The once assigned PIC number applies to all future applications you submit when applying for EU funds. For more information on how to register, get the PIC number and how to submit a project, please visit the registration page. link:

What is EACEA?

EACEA is the Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency. The EACEA is responsible for the management of certain parts of the EU’s programmes in the fields of education, culture, youth, citizenship and audiovisual. The Creative Europe programme is managed by the EACEA.

Which countries can participate in Creative Europe?

Organisations from the following countries can apply to Creative Europe’s Culture and MEDIA sub-programme:

  • 28 EU Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK)
  • Albania (sub-programmes Culture and MEDIA)
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina (sub-programmes Culture and MEDIA)
  • Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (sub-programmes Culture and MEDIA)
  • Iceland (sub-programmes Culture and MEDIA)
  • Montenegro (sub-programmes Culture and MEDIA)
  • Norway (sub-programmes Culture and MEDIA)
  • Serbia (sub-programmes Culture and MEDIA)
  • Kosovo (Culture sub-programme)

Organisations from Armenia, Georgia, Moldava, Ukraine and Tunisia can apply to Creative Europe’s Culture sub-programme and can partially participate in in the MEDIA sub-programme (in Training, Festivals, Film Education and Access to Markets):

An up-to-date list of non-EU eligible countries can be found on the Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency’s (EACEA) website. link:

Can individuals apply for grant?

Creative Europe is not open to applications from individuals, but it is estimated that around 250,000 individual artists and cultural and audiovisual professionals will receive funding through projects submitted by organisations.

Who assesses Creative Europe applications?

The Executive Agency (EACEA) has a database of experts who have a high level of expertise in the programmes managed by the Agency. These experts will assess applications from their field of expertise (for example, an experienced translator or publisher would review applications for the Literary Translation funding opportunity).

Experts usually only review applications from outside their country of residence to ensure that there is no conflict of interest.

All applications are assessed by two independent experts.

Are you interested in becoming an expert? link:

How are results published?

Results from all Creative Europe schemes are made available on the EACEA’s website. link:

If you are interested in recent awards made to Serbian companies within MEDIA sub-programme please visit the results page on this website.

More detailed information about the projects supported through the programme, as well as details on the organisations behind each project can be found on the Creative Europe Dissemination Platform. link:

What is standard identifier?

ISAN (International Standard Audiovisual Number) is a voluntary numbering system for the unique and permanent identification of any audiovisual work and its versions including movies, television programs, sports events, etc.

EIDR is a universal unique identification system for film and television.

If you wish to apply for support for the development of audiovisual works or for the production of TV works, the project you submit should have a standard identifier (ISAN or EIDR). If at the time of application this identifier is not available, you are required to obtain it before the project is completed.

More information about standard identifier read here: ISAN and EIDR.